32PINE #1

This is what I believe is a European Black Pine. It was collected in fall 2011 on an impromptu collection trip. I have enjoyed this as my first pine as bonsai. So far, it has cooperated with my lack of familiarity with pines thus far. This season(2013) I have spent a considerable amount of my bonsai thinking time, conversation, and studies towards understanding the techniques of good pine bonsai care. I am much more confident and more familiar with pines compared to how I was in the past BUT everyday, I have a lot of new questions on pines so do I think I am an expert?? HECK NO!! I just do what I do because it works for me and I enjoy it.  So to start off, I will post a pic of the tree the day it was collected.

image

image

Here it is today(09-17-2013)
I am definitely thinking of Literati.

image

I wanted to add another photo from a couple hours after the above photo. The difference is that the needles were cut. It makes the overall image neater I think. Its a big difference between the two.

image

Heres fall 2016 update! Nice progression and evolution of design! Most definately a literati.

About cedarbogbonsai

I am a bonsai enthusiast who focuses on native material. My main source and favorite way of bonsai is collecting yamadori. I also avidly hunt stones to add to my ever growing suiseki collection.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 32PINE #1

  1. Dale Cochoy says:

    Looks good. nice pot.

Leave a Reply

