Shohin Eastern Red Cedar #2.

I would like to share a little native juniper known as Eastern Red Cedar. Its NOT a cedar at all nor is it “the cedar variety”. Its a Juniper. There are many species erroneously named or nicknamed due to a variety of reasons from what locals nicknamed them to errors in early denderology research. I don’t know how many times even seasoned bonsai artists themselves were not aware of this. Eastern Red Cedars have been a work in progress and the biggest upset in my bonsai life came from the loss of 3 amazing specimens of red cedar. They had very nice movement not very often seen in these commonly upright trees. They were damaged in that June 28th 2012 Derecho in which the winds reached 90 MPH on the hill top where I live. My daughters(and mines) playhouse, a host of debris, and a couple branches blew right into the benches where my trees are. Anyways here is one I collected behind my house back in the field along the woods late October 2011. Its not as twisty as one of the loss ones but its a very nice small specimen. I am very anxious for this to become established into this pot so I can begin shaping and wiring. It is pretty rough at the moment but it’ll be tamed. Hope you can visualise this down the road like I can.

image

Eastern Red Cedar (juniperus virginiana)
Collected fall 2011, dug up out of the growing field early February 2013. IKER pot.
Heres the fall 2014 update. Coming along nicely. Needs more development but its getting there.
image

Heres the late July 2015 update. Filled in more, some more backbuds and lite chasing back of the foliage. But for the most part, this tree has been left alone. Again, still getting there.
image

About cedarbogbonsai

I am a bonsai enthusiast who focuses on native material. My main source and favorite way of bonsai is collecting yamadori. I also avidly hunt stones to add to my ever growing suiseki collection.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shohin Eastern Red Cedar #2.

  1. seth says:

    Like the blog keep it up

Leave a Reply

